Other Cultures - Middle School Book Recommendations

Collection by Rose Humphreys

14 
Pins
 • 
34 
Followers
Rose Humphreys
Read "Mud City" by Deborah Ellis available from Rakuten Kobo. Shauzia is Parvana's friend from The Breadwinner. Now Shauzia has fled from Afghanistan, to a refugee camp in Pakistan.

Mud City (The Breadwinner, #3)

Mud City book. Read 283 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. Shauzia is Parvana's friend from The Breadwinner. Now Shauzia has fled fr...

Parvana's Journey by Ellis, Deborah New Edition Ya Books, Great Books, Books To Read, English Reading, Find Friends, American Literature, New Edition, Reading Challenge, The Fault In Our Stars

Parvana's Journey (The Breadwinner, #2)

Parvana's Journey book. Read 566 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. Presents a sequel by the award-winning author. This book tells t...

whale rider essay The Whale Rider by Witi Ihimaera Middle School Books, Middle School English, Book Club Books, My Books, Whale Rider, Latest National News, Self Determination, English Reading, Small Moments

The Whale Rider

The Whale Rider book. Read 872 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. A mystical story of Maori culture The birth of a daughter, Kahu, b...

Alexander McCall Smith - The No. Middle School Books, Middle School English, Somerset College, College Library, Detective Agency, English Reading, Reading Challenge, Thrillers, Book Recommendations

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency book. Read 11,405 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. The No.1 ladies' detective agency consists o...

I Love, I Hate, I Miss My Sister - Amelie Sarn: "Portrait of two Muslim sisters, once closely bonded, but now on divergent paths as one embraces her religion and the other remains secular" I Miss My Sister, Women Rights, Sisters Book, Realistic Fiction, Trade Books, Books For Teens, Teen Books, Any Book, I Missed

I Love I Hate I Miss My Sister

I Love I Hate I Miss My Sister book. Read 240 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. For readers of The Tyrant’s Daughter, Out of Nowher...

Don Quixote [Paperback] [Jan Brook, Henry] Middle School Books, Middle School English, Somerset College, Don Quixote, Ayurveda Books, College Library, English Reading, Reading Challenge, Book Recommendations

Don Quixote

Don Quixote book. Read 16 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. Don Quixote has read so many books about knights and wizards, damsels a...

This diary of Ma Yan, who lived with her family in a drought-stricken corner of rural China, was published in Europe in It led the creation of an international fund for the education of Ma Yan and other poor children in her village.

The Diary of Ma Yan

The Diary of Ma Yan book. Read 117 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. Wednesday, November 7My father gave me and my brother a litt...

Daughter Of The Wind - Suzanne Fisher Staples Pakistani Culture, Muslim Culture, Middle School Books, Middle School English, Somerset College, College Library, English Reading, How To Be Likeable, Reading Challenge

Shabanu (Shabanu, #1)

Shabanu book. Read 601 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. Life is both sweet and cruel to strong-willed young Shabanu, whose home is...

Roll Of Thunder, Hear My Cry (Puffin Modern Classics) by Mildred D. Taylor, David Kearney, now listed on BookLikes English Reading, Love Reading, Middle School Books, Black History Books, Any Book, Book Recommendations, Modern Classic, Book Lists, Thunder

Roll Of Thunder, Hear My Cry

Roll Of Thunder, Hear My Cry book. Read 5,155 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. The Mississippi of the 1930s is a hard place for a ...

i heard the owl call my name margaret craven: Books

I Heard the Owl Call My Name

I Heard the Owl Call My Name book. Read 748 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. Amid the grandeur of British Columbia stands the vill...

Don Pinnock - Rainmaker Middle School Books, Middle School English, Somerset College, College Library, English Reading, Reading Challenge, Coming Of Age, Book Recommendations, Book Worms

Rainmaker

Rainmaker book. Read 4 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. Although fictional, this coming-of-age novel accurately reflects a massive...

Sumitra's Story - borrowed this from the QMS library for a project. We had to talk about it in front of the class. Middle School Books, Middle School English, Types Of Books, My Books, Somerset College, College Library, English Reading, Reading Challenge, Book Recommendations

Sumitra's Story

Sumitra's Story book. Read 3 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. SUMITRA'S STORY is about a young Asian girl growing up in Britian in...