Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas

Explore Pedestrian Bridge, Lasalle and more!

Darden Bridge over St. Joe River-Only known Truss Bridge in St. Joseph County. Built in 1885 to span the St. Joseph River at LaSalle St, it was initially known as the "Four Mile Bridge". It was floated down-river in 1906 to Darden Road, having been judged unsuitable for the downtown traffic on LaSalle. It was closed to cars in 1970 & then closed to pedestrians and cyclists in 1985.

In 1820, Pierre Navarre built a cabin on the North side of the Joseph river near what is now the Michigan St. Bridge, almost 150 years after French explorer Robert Rene Cavalier Sieur de La Salle landed on the banks of the St. Joseph River, at what is now Riverview Cemetery. The cabin was moved from it's original location, in 1904, to its present location in Leeper Park. This is the first "official" residence of what today is South Bend.

1935 Studebakers - South Bend, Indiana This view was shot from the railroad viaduct looking down S. Michigan St. during the unveiling of the 1935 Studebakers.