The Campanile was erected to commemorate the landing of the 1820 Settlers and is situated at the entrance to the railway station and docks in Strand Street. The Memorial has a climb of 204 steps that takes one to the Observation Room, offering a magnificent view of the harbor and surroundings, more than 52m above the city. It contains the largest carillon of bells in the country in addition to its chiming clock.
No 7 Castle Hill Museum is the second oldest surviving Settler cottage in Port Elizabeth. This picturesque family dwelling dates back to 1827 and the first rector of St.Mary’s Church, the Rev. Frances McCleland, lived there during his term of office. The cottage has been restored to reflect the history and the elegant lifestyle which was enjoyed by any English middle class family between 1840 and 1870 in Port Elizabeth. credits: R Hift Photograph: Bayworld Library