Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas

1998 European Union 50p #CoinHunt

pin 34

These Maps Show Every Country’s Most Valuable Exports

Colorful "Export Maps" of every country show their most valuable export: easy for kids to read, great to use in social studies.

pin 23
heart 1

21Mar84: EEC summit collapses over rebate row. Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher has come under attack for the breakdown of negotiations at the European Economic Community common market summit in Brussels. Mrs Thatcher returned to Downing Street in the early hours of this morning after the collapse of talks regarding the rebate to Britain from Europe. It is understood Mrs Thatcher asked for an annual rebate of £730m but was offered £580m, which she refused...

Farage on Friday: EU referendum a chance to create a better Britain for future generations

IT was forty years ago today that the British people voted to stay in the European Economic Community.

Nick Clegg's warning to David Cameron: Britain must stay in Europe

Nick Clegg's warning to David Cameron: Britain must stay in Europe Deputy PM calls for bigger UK role on 40th anniversary of accession to European Economic Community

The 10th edition of the long-established definitive guide to the EU. From its original six members (who formed the European Economic Community in 1957) what became the European Union had grown to 27 members in 2007, with several more candidates for membership standing in the wings.

This week in 1961: As the outcome of the EU referendum is revealed, we revisit 1961, the year prime minister Harold Macmillan announced the UK would be applying for membership to the European Economic Community

1957 Western Europe consolidates politically and economically. The European Economic Community is created in 1957 - the precursor to the European Union. The first members are France, Germany, Italy, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands.

1957: The European Economic Community (EEC) or Common Market is an international organization created March 25 by the Treaty of Rome. Its aim is to bring about economic integration among its six founding members: Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany.

For the first time the European Union has lost a member after the British people yesterday voted to leave the bloc which began life as the European Economic Community in 1951.